Breadcrumb

Corona UPDATE: Information about the Coronavirus

We know that the Coronavirus is on your mind these days, as well as it is on ours. We have summarised the most important facts for you.

by the editors

Empty lecture hall with slogan: Corona Update © DAAD
. © DAAD

Dear Study in Germany Community,

First of all, we would like to tell you that the Study in Germany Team is always there for you if you need help or have any questions. You may contact us via our contact form OR through Facebook at any time.

Germany is, as many other countries, currently affected by the Coronavirus. To ensure the safety of all, the German government has introduced restrictions related to everyday life and entry requirements. 
Germany is and will be a welcoming destination for international students and researchers. However, with the ongoing Coronavirus crisis we support the mobility restrictions in order to contain the current pandemic.
 

Current developments

For the latest updates on how the situation in Germany is affected by the Coronavirus, please visit the website of the Robert Koch Institute.

On the website of the German Ministry of Health (mostly in German) you can find daily updated information and recommendations on handling the Coronavirus. It also includes information regarding the protection from infection and tips for domestic quarantine. 

Do you already study in Germany?

Daily student routine? Unfortunately at the moment there is no such thing - at least not as we know it. Mostly, all higher education institutions switched during the summer semester 2020 to online teaching and have introduced a combination of online and face-to-face teaching for the winter semester 2020/2021. However, the situation may vary for each higher education institution.

Do you have questions about the current situation at your higher education institution? Our recommendation is to directly contact the International Office of your university. The staff there will be happy to help you!

If you would like to know how our Study in Germany - bloggers are experiencing the situation at the moment and how they deal with online classes, have a look at their blogposts and read some tips on how to manage the situation best.
 

Are you unsure how to keep financing your life in Germany?

Emergency funds for students due to corona crisis will be offered by the "Studentenwerke" (students services) in Germany (financed by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research).

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research announced (press release in German) that the KfW study loan (up to 650€ per month) will be grantes interest-free to international students from July 2020 until March 2021! International students can apply online as of June 1st 2020. 

Are you a scholarship holder?

If you are a scholarship holder, please contact your funding institution directly and ask what the possibilities are for you to continue your scholarship or to start your scholarship. Many scholarship organisations are offering flexible solutions. DAAD-scholarship holders started their scholarship for the winter semester, even though they were only able to start their classes online from home. Here you can find all information about scholarships of the DAAD.  

Are you in Germany with the Erasmus programme?

The European Commission has decided that you can cancel your Erasmus stay and return to your home country. We would advise you to contact your home university directly. Here you can find more information.
 

Are you planning to study in Germany?

The winter semester 2020/21 is a flexible mix of online and on-site lectures. Lectures in the winter semester 2020/21 start on November 1st (later than usual).

As of now there are no plans on how the summer semester 2021 will be organized. We will keep you informed. 

From 2nd July 2020 onwards students may enter Germany for study purposes (including doctoral studies) .

Please take care of your visa application at a very early stage, as the visa sections of the German missions offer sometimes only a few dates for the application and therefore delays may occur.

Please be aware that despite the possible entry to Germany there are quarantine regulations of the German federal states (in German only) !!!

Irrespective of entry restrictions, based on the quarantine regulations of the German federal states (in German only), persons who have stayed in a "corona risk area" within 14 days before entering Germany are obliged to remain in quarantine in Germany for 14 days and to inform the local health authority of their entry. The list of risk areas (in German only) is published and regularly updated by the Robert Koch Institute.

We will inform you as soon as we have further news.

Are you planning to attend a language course or short course in Germany?

Many higher education institutions had to cancel or postpone their language and short courses because of to the Coronavirus.

Due to frequent changes at the higher education institutions, the DAAD does not provide a list of all cancelled language courses and short courses. We suggest you visit the institutions‘ websites for up-to-date information on their courses.

Stay healthy and take care of yourself and others, wherever you are.

Best wishes,
Your Study in Germany-Team
 

More information

Back to top

Breadcrumb

Corona UPDATE: Informationen zum Coronavirus

Wir sind uns sicher, in diesen Tagen beschäftigt euch das Coronavirus genauso wie uns. Alles Wichtige haben wir für euch hier auf einen Blick zusammengestellt.

von: Redaktion

Leerer Hörsaal mit Schriftzug: Corona Update © DAAD
. © DAAD

Liebe Study in Germany Community,


als Erstes möchten wir euch sagen, dass das Study in Germany Team weiterhin jederzeit für euch ansprechbar ist. Ihr könnt uns entweder über das Kontaktformular ODER in Facebook bei allen euren Fragen jeder Zeit kontaktieren! 
Deutschland ist, wie viele andere Länder auch, aktuell vom Coronavirus betroffen. Um die Sicherheit aller zu gewährleisten, hat die deutsche Regierung Restriktionen in Bezug auf das tägliche Leben und die Einreisebestimmungen erlassen. 
Deutschland ist und wird auch zukünftig ein Land mit einer herzlichen Gastkultur für internationale Studierende und Wissenschaftler sein und bleiben. Mit der anhaltenden Corona-Krise unterstützen jedoch auch wir die Einschränkungen der Mobilität, um die aktuelle Pandemie einzudämmen.

Aktuelle Entwicklungen

Verfolge die aktuellen Entwicklungen, wie die Situation in Deutschland vom Coronavirus beeinflusst wird, auf der Webseite des Robert-Koch-Instituts.

Alle tagesaktuellen Informationen und Hinweise zum Umgang mit dem Coronavirus, zum Schutz vor einer Infektion und Tipps zu häuslicher Quarantäne findest du auf der Webseite des Bundesgesundheitsministeriums.

Du studierst schon in Deutschland?

Studentische Alltagsroutine? Momentan gibt es diese leider nicht, zumindest nicht so, wie wir sie kennen. Die meisten Hochschulen haben im Sommersemester 2020 auf Online-Unterricht umgestellt. Im Wintersemester 2020/2021 wird es voraussichtlich einen Mix zwischen Online- und Präsenzunterricht geben. Du bist unsicher, was für dich gilt? Kontaktiere am besten das International Office an deiner Hochschule. Die Kolleg*innen dort helfen dir sehr gern weiter!

Wenn du wissen möchtest, wie unsere Study in Germany-Blogger die aktuelle Situation erleben and wie sie mit Onlineunterricht zurecht kommen, schau dir ihre Blogposts an und hole dir ein paar Tipps, wie man die Situation am besten meistern kann.

Du weißt nicht, wie du dein Leben in Deutschland jetzt weiterfinanzieren kannst?

Vielleicht kannst du deinen Nebenjob gerade nicht ausüben und verdienst kein Geld. Durch die teilweise oder komplette Schließung der Gastronomie und des Tourismus und weiterer Bereiche gibt es zwar in diesen Bereichen weniger auch wieder Nebenjobs, aber in anderen Bereichen werden auch eben durch Corona neue Jobs geschaffen. 
Außerdem werden aufgrund der Coronakrise Nothilfefonds für Studierende von den Studentenwerken angeboten (finanziert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung).

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung hat bekannt gegeben (Pressemitteilung), dass das KfW Studienkredit kostenlos für internationale Studierende von Juli 2020 bis März 2021 bis zu 650 € monatlich geöffnet wird. Internationale Studierende können sich ab dem 01. Juni 2020 online bewerben

Du hast ein Stipendium?

Informiere dich am besten bei deiner Förderinstitution, welche Möglichkeiten du hast, um dein Stipendium fortzusetzen oder anzutreten. Viele Stipendienorganisationen bieten flexible Lösungen an. DAAD-Stipendiaten konnten ihr Stipendium zum Wintersemester antreten, auch wenn es ihnen vorerst nur möglich sein sollte das Studium online zu beginnen. Hier findest du alle Infos für DAAD-Stipendien.

Du bist mit Erasmus in Deutschland?

Die Europäische Kommission hat beschlossen, dass du dein Erasmus-Studium oder dein Erasmus-Praktikum abbrechen und nach Hause zurückkehren kannst. Kontaktiere in diesem Fall am besten direkt deine Heimathochschule. Weitere Infos findest du hier.

Du planst in Deutschland zu studieren?

Das Format des Wintersemesters 2020/21 ist ein flexibler Mix aus Online- und Präsenzformaten. Der Vorlesungsstart für das Wintersemester 2020/21 wird der 1. November sein (später als gewöhnlich).

Wie das Sommersemester 2021 gestaltet wird, steht noch nicht fest. Wir werden euch hier über Neuigkeiten informieren.

Seit dem 2. Juli 2020 sind Einreisen zu Studien- oder Forschungszwecken möglich, seit Mitte September 2020 auch ohne eine Präsenzbescheinigung.

Bitte kümmere dich sehr frühzeitig um deine Visabeantragung, da die Visastellen der deutschen Auslandsvertretungen zum Teil nur wenige Termine für die Antragstellung anbieten und es daher zu Verzögerungen kommen kann.

Bitte beachte jedoch, dass es trotz der möglichen Einreise Quarantäneverordnungen der deutschen Bundesländer gibt!!!

Unabhängig von Einreisebeschränkungen besteht auf Basis der Quarantäneverordnungen der deutschen Bundesländer für Personen, die sich innerhalb von 14 Tagen vor der Einreise nach Deutschland in einem „Corona-Risikogebiet“ aufgehalten haben, die Verpflichtung, sich in Deutschland für 14 Tage in Quarantäne zu begeben und das örtliche Gesundheitsamt über die Einreise zu informieren. Die Liste der Risikogebiete wird vom Robert-Koch-Institut veröffentlicht und regelmäßig aktualisiert.

Wir werden euch informieren, sobald es weitere Neuigkeiten gibt.

Du planst in Deutschland einen Sprachkurs oder Fachkurs zu besuchen?

Viele Hochschulen mussten wegen des Coronavirus ihre Sprach- und Fachkurse absagen oder verschieben.

Wegen häufiger Änderungen bei den Hochschulen gibt es beim DAAD keine Liste aller abgesagten Sprachkurse und Fachkurse. Es ist daher empfehlenswert, die Websites der Hochschulen zu besuchen, um aktuelle Informationen zu deren Kursangeboten zu erhalten.

Bleib gesund und pass auf dich und deine Lieben auf, egal wo du bist!

Alles Liebe,
Dein Study in Germany Team

Weiterführende Informationen

Zurück nach oben