Testimonial Can
Testimonial Can© Henning Ross/ DAAD

Fact sheet

First name: Can
Country of origin: Turkey
Year of birth: 1999
Field of studies: Marine Geosciences
German university: University of Bremen
University location: Bremen
Type of stay: Master
I have been writing for the blog since: August 2023
My hobbies and interests: Traveling, Swimming, Collecting Rocks and Fossils, Music, Politics, Baking

About Can

Hello there!

I am Can, pronounced like “John”. I know, weird. What can you do.

I am originally from Turkey, and living in Germany since 2019. I initially came here to study computer science, and then within 2 months I realized that I don’t want to spend the rest of my life sitting in front of a computer and coding, I wanted to get my hands dirty, so with a radical change of majors I started studying geology (perfect to get your hands literally dirty). Consequently, I enjoyed every second of my bachelor’s. Nowadays I am pursuing a master’s degree in Marine Geosciences.

I live in Bremen since 2019 and at first I had a hard time adapting. Coming from the sunniest city of Turkey, it was definitely a challange for me to live in the rainiest and darkest city of Germany. However, it grew on me. Maybe it is because I really enjoy the German way of living. I am quite happy with my life in Germany, and I would like to share with you why, through my content.

More posts by Can

In line with this topic

The Roland statue next to Bremen City Hall with the Germany flag. © Bremen Tourist Office
Roland statue© Bremen Tourist Office


#BremenTownMusicians #Weser #SVWerder